terewart.blogg.se

Glen matlock/''guy glue'' baguette
Glen matlock/''guy glue'' baguette












glen matlock/

And that was part of the birth of the punk thing.

#GLEN MATLOCK/''GUY GLUE'' BAGUETTE FULL#

They were the only places that would have us, but were full of the people who were a bit outlandish. So, the first gigs we did, that I booked, were another college: Central School of Art. is breathing space, and it allows you to get your ideas together.Īs it happened, I met up with the Sex Pistols outside of art college and took them to art college- not to do drawing, but there was a scene. So I wanted to get into a band somehow, and also art school was kind of important-not so much for what you learn there, but, back then, you didn’t want to work, you wanted to do something with your life but you didn’t quite know what it was. “Well, I could draw a bit-haven’t done any for years now-but I was interested in art school because I’d read that nearly every band I liked from the ’60s had formed at art school. I wanted to know more about Matlock’s early years at Saint Martin’s School of Art in London in the mid 1970s. It was Halloween-back then we never really celebrated Halloween-and the whole audience was dressed in Halloween outfits, The Cramps supported us, and backstage was Debbie Harry dressed as a witch who gave me a kiss on the cheek. We were playing with Iggy Pop at this place called the Palladium. “I think one of the best sense-of- occasion gigs was the first time I ever went to New York. Matlock remembered a special moment with the Sex Pistols. It’s just forwards I struggle with!” He told me, “I think that got me the gig”. When Matlock was approached to join the 2011 line-up, he was asked, “Are you going to be alright with this?” He replied: “Yeah I know this stuff backwards. “Ronnie Lane’s bass lines were fantastic, and I kind of learnt to play listening to their records”. He continued talking about the Faces and their late, original bass player. They have a laugh about everything, all the time-always, it seems”. And that band­-to me it was the band that opened up the door to all kinds of music: The Temptations and the blues, and Bobby Womack, The Staple Singers-there’s a lot going on in that band, and they play so great. It was the band I stood in front of the mirror when I was 14 and couldn’t play, pretending I was in them.

glen matlock/

“Yeah, I was playing with my all-time favourite band.

glen matlock/

The line-up included original member and Rolling Stones’ guitarist Ronnie Wood.

glen matlock/

He recalled the previous time he played at Fuji Rock Festival, in 2011, with legendary British band the Faces. I asked if there was a favourite? “Well, I think the Faces”. Matlock has performed with a number of famous names himself. And then, when I was thinking about doing this album, Good to Go, which came out at the tail end of last year-which you’re going to be playing several tracks from on your radio show-everything fell into place”. But it was fun, and I met Earl through it. “You know, in the music business, there’s loads of projects that don’t normally come to fruition, and that was one of them. “I met Earl about 10 years ago, got involved in a project by a mate of mine who’s a fashion designer and thinks he’s a singer, and we got on great,” Matlock recalls. The current Tough Cookies line-up includes legendary guitarist Earl Slick, who famously played with David Bowie for a number of years, and also collaborated with John Lennon and many other big names in music. You know I’m older, I’m not going to be top of the charts, I just want to do what I want to do”. “That’s what I’m trying to do with my band at the moment. Matlock was also noticeably having a good time. The Chemical Brothers headlined the festival the previous evening and stayed around to enjoy themselves. I even heard that one of The Chemical Brothers was there and really dug it”. We played last night-a bit wet-and they stayed all the way through. I’ve interviewed Matlock before-in 2014, in the air- conditioned comfort of a radio studio in Tokyo-but this time we’re outside enjoying the mountain air at sunset, and he was keen to talk about Fuji Rock and his current band, Glen Matlock and The Tough Cookies. He missed our heat wave by about 24 hours. I was glad to be coming to Japan to cool down a bit”. It’s been quite nice in England-we had a heat wave, too. I went to this beautiful island called Porquerolles, just off Toulon. “I’ve been here, there and everywhere this summer,” Matlock replied. But when I met Pistols’ bass player Glen Matlock at Fuji Rock Festival 2019, I was greeted by a tanned, floppy-fringed, handsome and healthy looking gent with not a ripped garment in sight. W hen you meet a member of the Sex Pistols, you anticipate meeting a skinny, pale, spotty, spiky-haired person in ripped clothes.














Glen matlock/''guy glue'' baguette